Book of Order

Book of Order


The three elements of the Book of Order of the Olivet Assembly of South Aisa shall be the “Book of Government”, the “Book of Worship”, and the “Book of Discipline”.

Book of Government

I. Introduction
Jesus Christ is the sole head of the church. Authority is exercised vicariously by officials appointed to the task by the prayerful choosing of members in this body of believers.

II. Mission Statement
The Olivet Assembly of South Aisa is a national members entity of the World Olivet Assembly denomination:
It exists to serve and glorify God, to prepare the way for God’s Kingdom on earth, to serve in the ministry of reconciliation, making true peace through Christ. It also serves to act as a spiritual and administrative center for World Olivet Assembly churches worldwide. The Olivet Assembly of South Aisa also develops resources for improving Biblical education and Christian service and provide support and counseling to World Olivet Assembly Ministers and missionaries. As part of the World Olivet Assembly denomination, it carries out the Great Commission of Jesus Christ, to preach the Gospel to all nations and peoples.

III. Church
The Church broadly refers to the entire body of believers who profess faith in Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior, regardless of location of worship.
The particular Church refers to a smaller body of believers gathered in a single location to worship together. The particular Church may have a set meeting location and name.
Each particular church belonging to the Olivet Assembly of South Aisa is to operate according to the rules set forth in this Book of Order and World Olivet Assembly Statement of Faith.

IV. Membership
A believer shall be known as a Baptized Member after receiving the Sacrament of Baptism.
An Active Member shall have been baptized, and shall continuously participate in all church services and meetings.
An Inactive Member is a previously Baptized or Active member who does not continue to participate regularly in church services and meetings.

V. Officers
The New Testament instructs Christian Believers to establish church with three offices, Episcopos (“overseer”), Presbyturos (“elders”), and Diakonos (“servants”). We carry these forth to the modern day in the following particular church offices:
A Minister of the Word and Sacrament should have proper theological and biblical training, and be able to minister the Word and Sacraments to church members.
An Elder should be a Church member in good standing, able to assist the Minister in performing all duties related to teaching and to ministering of Sacraments.
A Deacon should be a church member in good standing, able to assist in all capacities for better functioning of the particular Church.

VI. Congregation
A congregation consists of all persons on the baptized and active rolls of the Church. All persons listed on the active rolls of each particular Church may vote in the congregational meetings.

VII. Church Property
The property held by each particular Church, presbytery, or by the General Assembly, is held in trust, for the use of and benefit the Olivet Assembly of South Aisa.

VIII. The Church Session
The Session is a meeting of a particular Church, composed of the minister, co-pastors, associate pastors, and elders of that Church.

IX. The Presbytery
The Presbytery is a meeting of Churches within a defined area, composed of ministers from each Church, and of two elders elected from each Church.

X. The General Assembly
The General Assembly is a meeting of all Presbyteries in the Olivet Assembly of South Aisa, composed of representatives elected from among the ministers and elders of each presbytery.

XI. Ordination, Certification, and Commissioning
Ministers of the Word and Sacrament, Elders, and Deacons shall be ordained following their commissioning or election. Ministers shall be ordained through ceremony performed by the appropriate Presbytery, while Elders and Deacons shall be ordained by a ceremony performed by their respective particular churches.

XII. Amendments
Amendments to this Book of Order may be made by a two-thirds majority vote of all Presbyteries.

Book of Worship

I. Introduction
The purpose of the Book of Worship is to provide instruction on holding worship services, and to expound on the meanings therein, to all World Olivet Assembly Churches and Church members.

II. Elements of Worship
Worship shall include the following elements:
Kerygma (Proclamation of the Word of God)
Koinonia (Fellowship)
Diakonia (Service)

III. General Order of Sunday Worship
Call to service
Proclamation of the Word
Concluding of service

IV. Worship for Special Occasions
Other worship that may be occasioned, such as that for Christmas Day or Easter Sunday, shall be done according to the guidance of the Ministers of each particular church in keeping with the standards set forth in the Book of Worship.

V. Marriages
Holy Matrimony is an institution ordained by God, shall be performed exclusively between one man and one woman, and is a life-long and lasting testimony to the love of God within the believers of the church. Matrimonial services will be held in accordance with the standards set forth in the Book of Worship.

VI. Funerals
Funerals are to be held focused not on death, but on the everlasting life promised by the Lord Jesus Christ, according to the ceremonial standards set forth in the Book of Worship.

VII. Sacraments
The Sacraments, Baptism and the Lord’s Supper, are holy rituals performed as signs of the Grace of the Lord Jesus Christ.

Book of Discipline

I. Introduction
Discipline is an exercise of the authority given to the church by the Lord Jesus Christ, in order to instruct and guide its members. We set forth the procedures that shall order the ecclesiastical judicial system of the Olivet Assembly of South Aisa.

II. Jurisdiction
The judicial system of the Church shall have authority only over its members.
III. Trial
The trial shall proceed according to the standards set forth in the Book of Discipline.

IV. Disciplinary Sanctions
Disciplinary Sanctions will be made in accordance with the standards set forth in the Book of Discipline.

Book of Confessions

The Book of Confessions is made up of four smaller parts: the Westminster Confession of Faith, which is the basic confession of Presbyterian faith, the Westminster Shorter Catechism, the Westminster Larger Catechism, and our own Olivet Assembly Statement of Faith. Click the links below to open the full text of each document.

Download These forms may be downloaded to your computer for viewing and printing. You must have Adobe Reader or another PDF viewer, such as Preview (included with Mac OSX Tiger) installed.

Westminster Confession of Faith
Westminster Shorter Catechism
Westminster Larger Catechism
Statement of Faith